Question about Pistons

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

DJ5

Question about Pistons

Post by DJ5 »

can anyone tell about these pistons. Are they a good piston to use in a streetstockmotor will they hold up it the heat of a dirt motor.
keith black FHR (forged head relief) forged series piston
manley performance (sportsmaster forged pistons)
DJ5

RE

Post by DJ5 »

:D
rmcomprandy

Post by rmcomprandy »

LOL ... some people can destroy a steel ball with a rubber mallet so that's really a loaded question but, at the expense of oversimplification ... either one should be OK for that application.
DJ5

RE

Post by DJ5 »

I was told i need to buy a set of $550 of mahle piston. that i would pull the top off KB, Probe, and manley pistons. i am just getting started and don't have alot of money to spend on just pistons. tring to find the best piston out there for $250 to $300.

thanks for all the help
Supernova

Post by Supernova »

If you use the KB's pay particular attention to ring gap and piston clearances. You can probably do a search and find some valuable information.
David Clapp
[img]http://img431.imageshack.us/img431/3320/27sv1.jpg[/img]
Old School
Pro
Pro
Post by Old School »

Forged Speed Pro for that money.
1racerdude

Re: RE

Post by 1racerdude »

DJ5 wrote:I was told i need to buy a set of $550 of mahle piston. that i would pull the top off KB, Probe, and manley pistons. i am just getting started and don't have alot of money to spend on just pistons. tring to find the best piston out there for $250 to $300.

thanks for all the help
I have used Probe pistons for 12-15 years and never had a problem with them.
AFAIK they don't make hyper-u-crap-tic pistons. Don't really know that,as I don't use them, and haven't asked them about any.
LR
mstngjoe

Re: RE

Post by mstngjoe »

DJ5 wrote:I was told i need to buy a set of $550 of mahle piston. that i would pull the top off KB, Probe, and manley pistons.......