Pin oilers on street engines.

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

The Badger

Pin oilers on street engines.

Post by The Badger »

While at the shop today I was looking over one of our engines we run in our teams Xfinity car and got to thinking what benefits I could gain by adding piston pin oilers to an engine like a 302 based Ford block. I'm just an intern and don't have access to all of our info and was wondering if anyone could tell me the range of temperature drop we might be seeing at the piston from squirting oil at it, as well as if the old style kits like those that blp sold had any I'll effects on the main bearing life since I do want to drive the engine I'd build with it on the street, I have been reading on site about newer engines running them but none I see are running the squirters thru the main saddle. Any advice is appreciated, thank you in advance.
Warp Speed
Guru
Guru

Re: Pin oilers on street engines.

Post by Warp Speed »

Really, unless your running a bunch of pan depression, I wouldn't do it for the street.
Although it is the easiest way, the mains aren't the best place to take the oil from, as this is just putting more losses before the rod bearing.
As far as piston temprature reduction, it would help. But unless heat from high boost levels, or extended wot runs with big power is the norm, I think it would be a waiste, and the losses from increased oil would more than out way anything other than longevity during high cycle endurance.
IMO
Kevin Johnson
HotPass
HotPass

Post by Kevin Johnson »

Be careful about removing oil squirters that came stock on the engine.
https://www.semasan.com/breaking-news-archives?utm_campaign=DrivingForce_DF272&utm_content=SeeAllLeg
The Badger

Post by The Badger »