Angle milling benefit

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

athomp
Angle milling benefit

Post by athomp »

I've been reading a little about angle milling heads and I have a question about the benefits of doing it. On a stock iron 23 degree SBC head, notwithstanding the benefit of the CR increase, what would be the potential HP gain (on a totally stock engine) from milling to 22 degrees? I'm referring to the benefit of the valve angle change only vs getting the same CR gain from flat milling. And let's assume I could get this done for free - is it worth doing? This is for a circle track car.
The Badger

Re: Angle milling benefit

Post by The Badger »

I have no experience with angle milling and then dynoing but any gains would probably result from unshrouding the valve from the cylinder wall. How much? I have no idea.
JoePorting
Guru
Guru

Post by JoePorting »

I think it's a waste of time and money, and you'll be ruining a set of heads. Anytime you mill a head and cut into the 35 degree top intake angle you will lose intake flow. Typical lose is around 10 CFM across the lift range.
Joe Facciano
Keith Morganstein
Guru
Guru

Post by Keith Morganstein »

JoePorting wrote: Sun Mar 11, 2018 2:58 pm I think it's a waste of time and money, and you'll be ruining a set of heads. Anytime you mill a head and cut into the 35 degree top intake angle you will lose intake flow. Typical lose is around 10 CFM across the lift range.
Normal Angle milling doesn’t get into the intake valve seat as soon. Normal angle milling is taking more off the exhaust side. Common on a SBC is a .000 to .125” angle mill.

(Unless you are reverse angle milling? That would be a bad idea)
Automotive Machining, cylinder head rebuilding, engine building. Can't seem to quit #-o
groberts101
Guru
Guru

Post by groberts101 »

I.. think.. all Joe was pointing at is you're eventually lead to robbing poor peter to pay rich paul.