BBc old bow tie block

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

67 Nova
Pro
Pro

BBc old bow tie block

Post by 67 Nova »

I have an old Bow Tie that's been sitting for years.It's an old Pro Stock block. A few years ago the shop sent it out for pressure testing and full check over. Can back fine BUT now it's missing the main caps!

It's a straight cap block and from may past photos, the caps that were on it looked like regular production cast caps, like an LS6 cap? The inner bolts are rounded shoulders, 3 raised letters, stampings and and arrow for front?

Now I need ALL 5 caps, hardware is there just missing the caps. I've got a few recommendations to just reuse the OEM style factory caps. Couple even said they have had good luck with these off eBay:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Chevy-BBC-454- ... yV&vxp=mtr

Being a machinist I really can't see those eBay caps being any worse then a cast cap that was there?

Any input is appreciated
pdq67
Guru
Guru
Re: BBc old bow tie block

Post by pdq67 »

I guess that I would be all over the shop that, "lost/still has", the stock main caps!!

I did a favor for a guy that ended up giving me my worn out SJ 327 block I made my junk301 out of. It was missing one main cap..
Anyway, I had a small fit and then went to the local salvage yard, "iron pile/motor pile", looking for another cap to no avail.

Ended up that 4 months later one Sat. morning the guy he got the block from showed up with the cap!

All was good.

pdq67
SupStk
Guru
Guru

Post by SupStk »

For the front four on a BBC those caps would probably work. Now you need to find a rear cap.
I've gotten some of their (pro-comp) SBC caps that were a mess. The steps were rough machined and registers weren't correct. To fix 'em required more work than they were worth. Still sitting on the shelf in the back room.
Monty Frerichs
B&M Machine
67 Nova
Pro
Pro

Post by 67 Nova »