pipemax

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

moparian

pipemax

Post by moparian »

How many guys are using pipemax software for designing there combinations ? I have a question for the educated as i am still learning .... I am working on a 422 cube small block mopar and im running the combo through pipemax and i am wondering about what volumetric efficiency setting to use ? After i input all the info for the combo i go to the calculate piston CFM demand and Cyl head CFM page and it says max velocity is at 73.4 deg and at that point i have .698 lift at the valve and 355cfm at that lift .. Now to make all the parameters match what i have here including lift at rpm choke and matching csa’s to what i have input 121 V/E is this correct ? thanks
LCaverly
Re: pipemax

Post by LCaverly »

Need more information , comp ratio , head flow , cam specs , bore ,stroke , rod ratio , etc it takes a very exceptional engine to achieve 121% VE .
This would be a question for Larry Meaux.
Len C
moparian

Post by moparian »

4000 by 4.100 bore 6.123 rod 12.7 comp 272/420 lobe cam 1.8 rr 355/255 with intake and carb at 750 which is net lift 1.53 rod ratio ,any other info you need ? thanks
LCaverly

Post by LCaverly »

Your 121 with the combination you have looks pretty close. Maybe somebody else thats familiar with pipe max will chime in.
Len C
maxracesoftware
Vendor

Post by maxracesoftware »

i just saw this Post ,
but i gotta run to town

when i get back
i'll post about this
MaxRace Software
PipeMax and ET_Analyst for DragRacers
https://www.maxracesoftwares.com
andyf
Guru
Guru

Post by andyf »

VE of 121% is most likely wrong. Look at the stored files in PipeMax and you'll see that Pro Stock engines have VE of 118%. There is a 900 hp SB Chevy engine with a VE of around 100%.

What heads are you using? Have you run the engine on a dyno or track? I don't know much about your engine but I doubt that it should be higher than 110% VE in PipeMax.
Andy F.