Rookie racer questions

General engine tech -- Drag Racing to Circle Track

Moderator: Team

1969Corvette
Rookie racer questions

Post by 1969Corvette »

I am looking forward to racing IMCA Modified next year at my local 1/3 mile dirt track. I have a few questions: Would a crate motor or claim engine be best for a rookie racer? (As a grandstand watcher, Id prefer claim over crate) What track conditions dictate the type of engine you will use? Why do crate engines get lower RPMs then a claim engine? When you replace a claim engine to a crate engine (and vice versa), do you have to change the gear ratios? What gear ratios are typically ran on a 1/3 mile track? Because I have no experience of racing, I plan on going to the practices my local tracks have. I did some research and found that claim engines can be any cubic inch as long as they are unaltered and can be used in a passenger car. And 604 crate engines get less horsepower. And I also found that claim engines are more expensive, but I'm not sure why.
ProPower engines
Guru
Guru

Re: Rookie racer questions

Post by ProPower engines »

I raced IMCA for 16 years and after its all said and done the cars are all motor and no tire.
Trying to hook up a power house is hard with the tires they run and most guys in the north west have gone to the crate engine. I know lots of guys that have deep wallets and no trouble spending 40K for a claimer class stove but they don't cause the 604 engine works out better. Ya can't drive with the tires on fire and for a new driver something a bit tamer that will get the job done with the right set up and gear and lots of practice.

Also for the guy just starting in the class it saves the big engine bills if you are running decent and won't let it go in a claim.
But they work and they are cheaper then building one to start out with.