dragster doesnt go straight

Shocks, Springs, Brakes, Frame, Body Work, etc

Moderator: Team

RichardThiessen
Pro
Pro
dragster doesnt go straight

Post by RichardThiessen »

I recently bought a dragster and finally got my drivetrain all installed. I took it out for a shake down and all 3 launches I made with it pulled either to one direction or the other. I am new to driving a rail and there could be a possiblity that i wasn't properly lined up, but I assumed a rail would basically go pretty straight compared to a door car.

The front wheels are exactly straight and was wondering if I should set the toe-in about 1/8"-1/4"??? my one launch they said my right front wheel slightly lifted... not sure if this effected that launch. Its a hard tail dragster with a 650 hp 427 SBC with a glide and 4.11 gears
mystic1582
Pro
Pro
Re: dragster doesnt go straight

Post by mystic1582 »

I'm assuming this is a rear engine rail w/a rack and pinion gear box. If you have never drove a race car w/a rack and pinion it is much more sensitive than a traditional steering box. There is less play. This may be part of the issue. What were the track conditions? What are the tires like? Since it goes one direction or the other it could be the track, steering, tires etc....Did this all happen in the same lane? Toe I would guess should be about zero....the front is rigid and steering has heims? Did you make sure the front wheels are not bent before checking toe? Did you check for any broken or cracked frame connections? Has it ever been repaired or halved?
Matt@RFR

Post by Matt@RFR »

We run a 125" hardtail altered with a rack. Not exactly the same thing, but 1/16" toe made for an unhappy driver. 1/8" is where we set it, and it goes straight as could be at 160 MPH.

And yes, the steering is touchy, especially on our short car, but it's nothing you should be worried about.
Alan Roehrich
Guru
Guru

Post by Alan Roehrich »