BRAKE PROBLEM--HELP!

Shocks, Springs, Brakes, Frame, Body Work, etc

Moderator: Team

ROMPRON

BRAKE PROBLEM--HELP!

Post by ROMPRON »

IM HAVING A PROBLEM GETTING BRAKES ON MY STREET STOCK. IVE BEEN RUNNING FOR ALMOST 2 YEARS WITH LITTLE OR NO BRAKES. IVE PUT ON A NEW SET OF FRONT CALIPERS, NEW STRANGE MASTER CYLINDER, FRONT BRAKE LINES, FRONT AND REAR PADS AND REAR WHEEL CYLINDERS. 2 OR 3 PUMPS AND THE BRAKES OR GREAT, RIGHT ON TOP, BUT WAIT 5 SECONDS AND THEY OR BACK ON THE FLOOR AND THE CAR WILL BARELY STOP. AS YOU CAN TELL IM ABOUT OUT OF PARTS TO REPLACE. THIS IS A 3300 POUND METRIC CAR. ANY IDEALS WOULD BE GREAT.....THANKS

PS.... IF I PUMP THE BRAKES AND HOLD THEM THEY DONT BLEED DOWN AND I HAVE NOT LOST ANY BRAKE FLUID.
MileHighMan
Guru
Guru

Post by MileHighMan »

Hey Ron. Just my $.02. Either your rear brakes are'nt adjusted out far enough, or you still got air in the lines. Years ago I had a car come in with that same problem, and it turned out to be a slightly bent front brake pad.[ wonder what the person looked liked that did that brake job? Huh, animal] Good Luck,Dan.
ROMPRON

Post by ROMPRON »

THANKS DAN, I ADJUSTED THE REARS OUT UNTILL THE RAER WOULD NOT EVEN TURN TODAY AND IT MADE NO DIFFERENCE. I THOUGHT MAYBY THE FRONT CALIPERS WHERE RETURNING TO MUCH IF THAT IS POSSABLE. IT REALLY SUCKS BECOUSE I HAVE TO BACK OFF WAY EARLY GOING INTO THE CORNERS SO I DONT RUN OVER THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME.
Transman
Pro
Pro

Post by Transman »

Any residual valve(s) in there?
Dealer for TCI, JW, BTE, Trans Specialties, Jesel, Impact, etc.
MileHighMan
Guru
Guru

Brakes

Post by MileHighMan »

The front brakes returning too much is exactly what I was talking about. Check and see if you have a pad that is bent. It could be pushing the piston back so you have to pump the brakes up everytime you need them. If not? I would say you got dirt in the master cyl. Good Luck,Dan
ROMPRON

BRAKES

Post by ROMPRON »