200R4 Tq/Hp capacity?

Transmission to Rear-end

Moderator: Team

cjperformance
Guru
Guru

200R4 Tq/Hp capacity?

Post by cjperformance » Tue Apr 02, 2013 9:40 pm

Hi, I have zero experience with the 200R4 transmission and i am wondering what TQ/HP levels you guys have seen these handle? What modifications were needed to do so, how do they hold up at theis power level.
Cheers,
Craig.

wyrmrider
Guru
Guru

Re: 200R4 Tq/Hp capacity?

Post by wyrmrider » Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:27 am

What power level???
If you google you will find more than you need
start with a core from a later high performance model Buick GN or Chevy SS or build to that or PU level
valve body - Transgo reprogramming kit
beef it up as much as you want, clutches, shells etc
If you want lots of power AND lots of life then 4L80
shorter than a 700r4 use whichever fits your chassis best- both need some well known mods

cjperformance
Guru
Guru

Post by cjperformance » Wed Apr 03, 2013 12:55 am

Only looking at 450hp in aprox 3500lb car, mainly street use, 2800rpm stall. If this is an ok hp level for the 200, what is needed to make tham live at this level.
What sort of lock up does the 200 use?
Cheers,
Craig.

ijames
Expert
Expert

Post by ijames » Wed Apr 03, 2013 9:44 am

In the turbo v6 Grand Nationals the 200 4R can be built to live down to the low 10's and last a few seasons of weekend racing with maybe a little street driving, at 35-3800 lbs (so about 700 rwhp). Many have gone into the mid 9's but for most guys at that level the durability just isn't there (and the rebuild cost is 2-3x higher than a 400) and they switch to th400's. At www.turbobuick.com in the transmission forum there is a sticky thread with one professional builder's recipe.

cjperformance
Guru
Guru

Post by cjperformance » Wed Apr 03, 2013 4:25 pm