CamQuest 6 Simulation

Tech questions that don't fit above forums

Moderator: Team

Post Reply
User avatar
maximumbob
Member
Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:14 pm
Location: Delaware

CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by maximumbob » Wed Jul 07, 2010 10:11 pm

Anyone used this free software? I know it only picks Comp Cams part nos. but I wondered how it would compare to some of the non-free programs on the market as far as HP and torque figures go.
Horsepower doesn't know what name is on the valve covers.

bmcdaniel
Pro
Pro
Posts: 269
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: York, PA

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by bmcdaniel » Fri Jul 16, 2010 12:05 pm

I've played around with it. The hp and torque figures are very optomistic.

FTCH
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:21 pm

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by FTCH » Thu Jul 22, 2010 10:39 pm

Its good, and its based around another program. If you want to get further into where you are going to start basing more on your software results, you need to spend the money.

Dynomation is very good in my opinion. All software must be used with good common sense.

cheers
MM

goldmember63
Member
Member
Posts: 170
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:21 pm
Location: gainesville,fl

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by goldmember63 » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:21 am

My only question is which manifold is the max flow which picks me up 40hp? I thinks its useless,but maybe I'm missing something?

FTCH
New Member
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:21 pm

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by FTCH » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:40 am

Your comment inregards to manifolds is a fair one. However there can be a lot of power from one manifold to another, if the cylinder heads are at the correct level.

This is where once again common sense and experiance must come in. It is free software.

kind regards
mm

rfoll
Guru
Guru
Posts: 2009
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 12:44 pm
Location: St. Helens, OR

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by rfoll » Mon Oct 11, 2010 12:28 pm

A local sales person in my area is quoted as saying "free is a very good price". The program is indeed optomistic, however much can be gleaned from reading between the lines. When the parameter solid lifter cam is changed to solid roller cam. the hp and torque jump up a large chunk. I drew some meaning from this an it showed up big time at the track. Just don't believe it is as simple as assembling the parts used in the file. Great ball park indicator.
So much to do, so little time...

rskrause
Expert
Expert
Posts: 804
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 10:57 am
Location: Buffalo, NY

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by rskrause » Wed Nov 10, 2010 10:57 am

It isn't much use, IMHO. Fun to play with though.

Richard

lightning-jr
New Member
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2010 3:28 am
Location: Pacific NW

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by lightning-jr » Fri Nov 12, 2010 12:58 pm

I think the fact that it only works with comp grinds makes it almost useless,
nevermind the lack of accuracy, hense it's worth exactly what it costs.
EFI Rat

horsepower_lover

Re: CamQuest 6 Simulation

Post by horsepower_lover » Mon Jan 24, 2011 8:50 pm

I did not care for it because it did not compensate for a 421 stroker and the cam I have now made a hell of alot more power then what they wanted to give me, yes it was another off the self cam from another cam source.

Post Reply