Times and Speeds for drag racing, what do they mean?

Tech questions that don't fit above forums

Moderator: Team

icebluecuda

Times and Speeds for drag racing, what do they mean?

Post by icebluecuda »

I am a newbie when it comes to anything beyond stock restorations and rebuilds. My background is in small and big block Mopars, specifically E Bodies. No real drivers seat race experience... Yet!

I helped a friend recently at Bandimere and he was discussing the ETs and MPH of his passes and his competitors. (Hi Ryan :D)

One of the my friends competitors was running slower ETs, like 10.5 @ 135 or so in heads up racing, and my friend was running a 10.3 @ 130. The other guy has a higher speed, but a slower time. What does this mean? Why is the other guy faster but with a slower ET?

When looking at timeslips, what information can be gleaned from the 60fts, 1/8ths and so on? In other words, what do you guys look for?

Thanks!
Makina
Post by Makina »

I personally look at the whole slip, or at least what the track reports out. Some give a better breakdown in times than others.

I typically run 12.1's @113 on 1.6 60's, at least before the new suspension. Most cars run 12.8's-13.1's at those traps, but my car is probably 500lbs ligther, and leaves the line harder.

ET's and trap speeds don't necessarily correspond from car to car, you have to look at the differences between setups.

You're buddy could have better gearing, has a lighter car or just leaves the line harder.

Hard to tell without comparing timeslips.

The higher trap car has more power though, that's for sure.
Bubstr
Post by Bubstr »

This may give you a little more incite to what a time slip can do for you.
http://www.motorsportsvillage.com/timeslip.html
Older I get the less I know for sure
randy331
Guru
Guru

Re: Times and Speeds for drag racing, what do they mean?

Post by randy331 »

icebluecuda wrote: